Academic Calendar

GARDEN CITY UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, KENYASE – KUMASI

REVISED ACADEMIC CALENDAR FOR 2017/2018 ACADEMIC YEAR

 

 

Click to Download pdf

GARDEN CITY UNIVERSITY COLLEGE, KENYASE – KUMASI

2017/2018 ACADEMIC CALENDAR

 

 

FIRST SEMESTER - 2017/2018

EVENT

DATE

Arrival of Continuing Students

Friday, August 25, 2017

Registration of Continuing Students

Friday, August 25 - Friday, September 08, 2017

Change of Programme (Specializations)– Continuing Students

Friday, August 25 - Sunday, September 10, 2017

Lectures Begin for Continuing Students

Friday, September 1, 2017

Arrival of Freshmen

Friday, September 8, 2017

Registration of Freshmen

Friday, September 8, 2017 –  Sunday, October 1, 2017

Medical Examinations for Freshmen

Friday, September 8, 2017 (Runs throughout the Semester)

Lectures Begin for Freshmen

Monday, September 11, 2017 (For  Regular Stream) & Friday, September 15, 2017 (For Weekend Stream)

Late Registration  with  a Fine Begins (Continuing Students)

Monday, September  11 – Sunday, September 17, 2017

General Orientation for Freshmen

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Faculty Orientation for Freshmen

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Academic Board Meeting to consider general academic issues/policies

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Mid-Semester Examinations

Monday, October 16,– Monday, October 29, 2017

Submission of End-of-First Semester Examinations Questions to HODs/Moderators

Monday, October 16, 2017 -  Sunday, October 22, 2017

 

Entrepreneurship Week/Workshops/Seminars

Monday, October 23, 2017- Sunday, October 29, 2017

Assessment of Lecturers and Courses by Students

Monday, November 13, 2017 - Sunday, November 19, 2017.

Matriculation Rehearsals

Friday, November 10, 2017

MATRICULATION/ Special Congregation: 2nd Session for PA Students

Saturday, November  11, 2017

Lectures End for both Freshmen and Continuing Students

Monday, November 27, 2017

End-of-First Semester Examinations for both Freshmen & Continuing Students

Friday, December 1, 2017– Sunday, December 17, 2017

Semester Break

Semester Vacation

Monday, December 18, 2017 – Friday, January 12, 2018

Christmas Break (For Staff)

Friday, December 22, 2017 - Wednesday, January 03, 2018

*Deadline for Submission of 1st Semester Examination Results

*Friday, January 05, 2018

Faculty Board Meeting

Monday, January 8, 2018

Auditing of 1st Semester Examination Results by the Vetting Committee

Thursday, January 11, 2018

Special Academic Board Meeting to consider 1st Semester Examination Results.

Wednesday, February 7, 2018

 

 

 

 

 

 

SECOND SEMESTER – 2017/2018

Arrival of Continuing Students

Friday, January 12, 2018

Arrival of Freshmen: January 2018 Admissions

Friday, January 12, 2018

Registration of Continuing Students

Friday, January 12 - Sunday, January 28, 2018

*Lectures Begin

*Friday, January 12, 2018   (For  Weekend Stream)

Monday, January 15, 2018 (For  Regular Stream)

Supplementary Examinations for 1st Semester trailed courses

Friday, January 26, 2018 – Sunday, January 28, 2018

Orientation For Freshmen: January 2018 Admissions

Saturday, February 3, 2018

January 2018 Admissions End

Friday, February 23, 2018

Late Registration with a Fine (For Continuing Students)

Monday, January 29, 2018 – Sunday, February 4, 2018

Matriculation of Freshmen: January 2018 Admissions

Saturday, March 3, 2018

Mid -Semester Examinations

Monday, March 12, 2018 -Sunday, March 25, 2018

Submission of End-of-Second Semester & Supplementary Examination Questions to Examination Officers

Monday, March 12 – Sunday, March 18, 2018

SRC Elections & Hand Over

Thursday, March 1, 2018 -  Sunday, April 15, 2018

Assessment of Lecturers and Courses by Students

Friday, April 6, 2018 – Sunday, April 15, 2018

Academic Board Meeting to consider general Academic Issues/Policies

Thursday, April 12, 2018

 * End-of-Second Semester Examinations (Final Year Students)

*Friday, April 13, 2018 – Thursday, April 19, 2018

* End-of-Second Semester Examinations (Level 100, 200 & 300)

 

*Friday, April 20, 2018-Sunday, May 6, 2018

Students Depart

Monday, May 7, 2018

Semester Break

Semester Vacation (Long Vacation)

Monday, May 07, 2018 - Friday, August 24, 2018

*Deadline for Submission of Second Semester Examination Results (Final Year Students)

*Monday, April 30, 2018

Faculty Board Meeting

Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Supplementary Exams for Final Year trailed courses (only level 400 2nd Semester trailed courses)

Monday, May 14, 2018 – Wednesday, May 16, 2018

Submission of Re-sit Exams results for Final Years Students

Friday, May 18, 2018 

SUMMER SCHOOL STARTS

Friday, May 18, 2018 – Sunday, July 22, 2018

Auditing of Exams results and all academic records of Final Year Students by the Vetting Committee before Academic Board Meeting

 

 

Monday, May 21, 2018

Special Academic Board Meeting to Consider Final Year Results

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

CONGREGATION

Saturday, July 21,  2018

Deadline for Submission of Second Semester Examination Results (1st, 2nd& 3rdYear Students)

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

Faculty Board Meeting to Consider the results of Continuing Students

 

Friday, June 15, 2018

Registration of trailed Courses

Monday, June 18, 2018 – Friday, July 20, 2018

Re-sit Examinations (Continuing Students) – 2nd  Semester Courses

 

Friday, August 10, 2018 – Friday, August 17, 2018

Deadline for Submission of Re-sit Examination Results (Continuing Students)

 

Wednesday, August 22, 2018

 

Faculty Board Meeting to Consider the final results of Continuing Students (This includes results of re-sit exams)

 

 

Friday, August 24, 2018

 

Auditing of Examination Results ((1st, 2nd& 3rdYear Students)) by Vetting Committee

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Special Academic Board Meeting to Consider  Results of Continuing Students

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Annual Leave for Senior Members (Academic)

Monday, July 23 , 2018- Monday, August 20, 2018